Why I want to spread cheer…

imageLike most people, I love Christmas! It is a time of celebration, love and giving. I look forward to it ever year. This year will be my first Christmas as a married woman, so today my husband and I were discussing what family traditions we would like to keep from our past and what new traditions we would like to start. I came up with the idea of doing something selfless together on Christmas Eve.  All too often the holidays can become about gifts and we tend to forget about what the season truly means.

My husband thought it was a great idea, but also assured me that as educators we do selfless acts everyday. I cannot disagree with him, although I can’t help but feel I could do more. So, here is what I am proposing:

I will do 50 Acts of Kindness (from November 5-December 24)

*The reason I am not calling them Random Acts of Kindness is because I don’t think there is anything wrong with a little planning ahead and I am not all that spontaneous.

Now, here is the catch: I would like you (other people) to give me suggestions on what kinds of acts of kindness I could do and DO THEM YOURSELVES as well! That way 2 people (myself and you) are spreading cheer in similar ways.

I have a few ideas to get started myself, but here are some categories to help in the thought process:

-Monetary acts of kinds (AOKs)

-Donation of goods AOKs

-Donation of time AOKs

-Complimentary AOKs

*I will try to be creative (with your help) and not consider human decency (a.k.a. holding doors open) as an act of kindness.

So, let the kindness begin and send me your ideas. Oh, and keep tuned for warm fuzzies!

 

Karla 🙂

3 thoughts on “Why I want to spread cheer…

  1. I think this is an awesome idea. I always drop off my recycling to the homeless downtown and today as I was freezing my butt off, I thought … I bet if I were to hand out a few cups of hot chocolate, there would be some warmer butts in the downtown area as well!

    • Hi Karla, Every year we by a gift for the giving tree here at our local bank. What I like about this is it goes to the kids in our community. Also our school ask the kids to bring in one item for a grocery box and the staff provides a Christmas dinner and gives it to a family in need in our area. The staff decides who this goes to and they deliver it. On year they knocked on the door and left it on the door step, it was priceless.
      What you are trying to do is a great idea and soooo you, have fun with it.

  2. Pingback: 50 Acts of Kindness | Kate MacKenzie Weddings

Leave a comment